OBCL Epilepsy Scholarship Awards

To download the poster, click here.


Students who have successfully completed high school and entering their first year of post-secondary education.

For the 2015 competition, we have expanded eligibility requirements to include students continuing their post-secondary education this fall.


To view/print out the application form, click here. To view/print a one page overview of the Award, click here.

About the awards

Since 2006, Lawton Osler, president of Osler Business Consulting Ltd., has supported students with epilepsy by funding the OBCL Scholarship Awards. Every year, up to six students across Ontario could win a $1,000 scholarship for post-secondary education.

As part of their application package, students must submit a personal essay under that year’s theme. Year after year, the students have wowed Osler and the panel of judges comprising of Epilepsy Ontario board members.

“Every year they’ve been fantastic, absolutely fantastic,” said Osler at the sixth annual awards ceremony. “I’m almost expecting it now,” he added with a chuckle.

Comments from Previous Recipients

“The OBCL Epilepsy Scholarship benefited me by helping pay for my tuition. It was a great help and I was also able to spread the word and knowledge about epilepsy.” – Cassidy S.

“I never let epilepsy become a barrier.  I made it a part of my life and a part of who I am.  Because of epilepsy I am a more determined and persistent person who never lets anything stand his way.  The OBCL Scholarship gave me the chance to show this to my family, friends, professors, and community.” – Rahman M.

“I was not successful at my first post-secondary attempt. With the hope of receiving the OBCL Epilepsy scholarship I applied to the Recreation and Leisure program, something  I had always dreamed of.  I’m finding Centennial College and the faculty very supportive and am loving the program.  Thank you so much Epilepsy Ontario. You are the Best!!” – Jaimie M L

How it began

Before OBCL, a drug company (Pfizer in 2002 and Lundbeck Canada in 2003) offered the epilepsy scholarships in the early 2000s. Back then, Osler already took on an active role as a member of the committee that read through the students’ applications.

When the drug company decided to discontinue the scholarships, Osler was ready to take the lead. How did Osler feel about his new initiative? Click here to find out.

To read our press release from the first OBCL Epilepsy Scholarship Awards, click here.

How to ApplyExpand How to Apply Section

To learn more about the award, click here.  To apply, print out the application form and email or mail all requested documents to Epilepsy Ontario. Best of luck!

OBCL Epilepsy Scholarship AwardsEpilepsy Ontario3100 Steeles Avenue EastSuite 803Markham, Ontario, L3R 8T3email: info@epilepsyontario.org

Application Deadline: The deadline for the 2015 OBCL Epilepsy Scholarships is May 15, 2015 by 5:00pm. For more events, click here.

Past Scholarship RecipientsExpand Past Scholarship Recipients Section


  • Chloe Gallagher – Burlington
  • Tori Gleason – Smiths Falls
  • Alexander Johnson – Mississauga
  • Kirsten Leusink – Cambridge
  • Katelyn Lewis – Thunder Bay
  • Suzanne McGuire – Niagara Falls


  • Brooke Corner – Barrie
  • Chelsea Ellis – Kanata
  • Danika Dupuis – Kingston
  • Jaimie Morgan-Lynette – Toronto
  • Michel Leroux – Ottawa
  • Mikaela Morrell – Porcupine
  • Rahman Mohamed – Toronto
  • Vanessa Orlando – St. Catharines


  • Lindsay Bennett – Niagara
  • Julia Chriss – York Region
  • Megan Judith Donnelly – York Region
  • Johnathan Healy – Simcoe
  • Joanna Marie Hearn – Kingston
  • Jasmyne Jagpal – London
  • Alexandra Potvin – Simcoe
  • Christopher Rychlo – Simcoe
  • Cassidy Sankey – Durham
  • Jennifer Ward – Durham


2010 marked the expansion of the OBCL Scholarship Awards with the addition of the Artistic Merit Award, the Award of Excellence, the Continuing Studies Award and the Margaret Burka Memorial Grant.

  • Daniel Adamo – Toronto
  • Amanda Beitz – Waterloo
  • Kate Cochrane – London
  • Robert DeMarco – London
  • Darcy Enns – Niagara
  • Aliza Jo Gold-Ruvolo – Toronto
  • Melissa Kerr – London
  • Brandyn McCarthy – Halton Peel
  • Cowathamen Mohan – Halton Peel
  • Aly Singh – Ottawa


Congratulations to the 11 winners of the 2009 OBCL Epilepsy Scholarship Awards! The awards ceremony took place at the Badminton and Racquet Club in Toronto on Aug. 14 at 7 p.m. Epilepsy Ontario was pleased to celebrate this momentous occasion with nine of these bright individuals and their friends and families.

  • Alexe Lalonde – Ottawa
  • Laryssa Bilinsky – Sudbury
  • Meryn Winters – Toronto
  • Alesha Ross – Windsor
  • Jaclyn DeWolf – London
  • Hilary L. Scarrow – Halton Peel
  • Emma Rossi – Waterloo Wellington
  • Christine Kirkwood – Ottawa
  • David Benoit – Ottawa
  • Geertje Visscher – London
  • Hannah King – Toronto


“Part of the application process is writing a short essay on – how epilepsy has changed my life. These essays always provide us with the insight into how debilitating, complicated, stressful and in most cases life altering a diagnosis of epilepsy or seizure disorder can be for these young people” says Lawton Osler, Founder of the Scholarship, member of the review committee and member of the Board of Directors of Epilepsy Ontario.

In one essay entitled, Why Me? Why Not., the author explains “I went from the top of my class to a vulnerable human being lying in the middle of the street in less then ten minutes. The day started off like any other…”

“It is true that many of the essays begin with outlining the difficulties these young people face, but most, if not all, end with very powerful statements of valuable lessons learned about coping, dealing with difficulties, appreciating what they have and how we can all learn to overcome… and even prosper from adverse conditions in our lives.” Osler continues, “It is overwhelmingly touching to see the positive attitude and determination of these young adults”

Dianna Findlay, past Executive Director of Epilepsy Ontario says, “These young people have learned to cope and deal effectively with their disorder. Many of our provincial programs and services strive to help people become more accepting of their seizure disorder as well as helping to create a more accepting society. We do this through education, awareness, information and advocacy.”

  • Emily Banks – London
  • Heather Bartok – Niagara
  • Jacquelin Chatterpaul – York Region
  • Skye Corey – London
  • Alex Dolan – York Region
  • Carolyn Harris – Windsor
  • Nathalie Holroyd – Durham
  • Nadim S. – Toronto
  • Melissa Seichter – Hamilton
  • Lindsay Smyth – Durham
  • Chelsea Tobin – Kingston
  • Lynn Wilkins – Toronto